Information about Tasmania: Tasmania is an island state of Australia which is located 240 km (150 mi) to the south of the Australian mainland. Only separated by Bass Strait. The state encompasses the main island of Tasmania. It is also the 26th-largest island in the world. The state has a population of about 540,000 people as of March 2020 . The capital and the largest city is Hobart, which has around 40 percent of the population living in the Greater Hobart area. Read More...

Tasmania Regions

Southern Tasmania

Southern Tasmania

Hobart, Bruny Island, Cygnet, Dover, Huonville, Kingston, New Norfolk, Port Arthur, Richmond.

Travelling south of Tasmania you’ll find the clear waters and stunning coastline of Bruny Island, the rich soils of the Huon valley, the picturesque beauty of the D'Entrecasteaux Channel and the rugged Hartz Mountains National Park.

East of Hobart are the wineries of the Coal River Valley and Tasman National Park with its spectacular coastline, geological formations and historic convict sites.

.To the west is the Derwent Valley, where the road follows the beautiful River Derwent through rows of poplars and on to Tasmania's central highlands and the grandeur of Lake St Clair and the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage area.

North from Hobart, the Midland Highway heads to Launceston. Dubbed the Heritage Highway, it offers many opportunities to enjoy Tasmania's heritage past, with homesteads and country cottages reflecting the state's early colonial history.


Northern Tasmania
Northern Tasmania

It include Launceston, Ben Lomond, Bridport, George Town.

Launceston and Northern Tasmania offers a haven of nourished farmland, which creates fresh, beautiful produce such as well acclaimed truffles, seafood and velvety cool climate wine.

Along with farmland Launceston and Northern Tasmania is a gate way for many adventure activities as it provides vast rugged wilderness. Mountain biking enthusiasts come not only to experience the gnarly tails, but also to feel the serenity that the untouched wilderness of national parks provides. However, this type of intimacy with nature is also enjoyed proudly by road cyclists too as they ride along our back roads; a streetscape of vineyards, farmland and the occasional historic charming nod that only a eighteenth century cottage can provide.

North West Coast of Tasmania

North West Coast

Smithton, Stanley, Wynyard, Somerset, Burnie, Penguin, Ulverstone, Devonport, Waratah, Cradle Mountain, Mole Creek, Sheffield, Latrobe.

North West Tasmania is one of the regions of Tasmania in Australia. The region comprises the whole of the north west, including the North West Coast - and the northern reaches of the West Coast.

The North West Coast is a region of Tasmania on the north coast of Tasmania to the west of Port Sorell, Tasmania. It includes towns such as Devonport, Burnie, Penguin, Smithton, Stanley. The water to the north is called Bass strait.

Full of colour and flavour, Tasmania's North West is the gateway to some of Tasmania's most beautiful natural places. Exploring the North West you'll find classic coastal drives, food trails, stunning national parks and beautiful nature reserves.

East Coast Of Tasmania

East Coast

Tasmania's East Coast, with its natural beauty, spectacular landscapes and long beautiful beaches, offers a completely different Australian coastal experiance.

Five national parks spread along the coast including the stunning Freycinet National Park with its pink granite mountains, white beaches and crystal clear sea.

The two largest towns on the East Coast are Bicheno and St Helens - both busy fishing ports, so expect some of the freshest seafood around. There's also some of the best game fishing in Australia.

And for those interested in diving, there are sheer rock walls, deep fissures, caves, sponges and sea whips, not to mention world-famous kelp forest.

Inland from the coast you'll find temperate rainforests, fresh grown produce and the rich heritage of the boom days of tin mining as well as fruits and berries from orchards and gardens and full-flavoured beef and lamb raised on seaside pastures.


West Coast Of Tasmania

West Coast

On Tasmania's West Coast you'll find world famous wilderness rich in convict heritage, stunning national parks and historic mining towns.

Tasmania's west is often remembered for the conflict between forestry workers and environmentalists to save the flooding of Lake Pedder, and once you visit you'll get an idea of what the protest was all about.

The largest coastal town is Strahan, situated on Macquarie Harbour and close to Sarah Island - one of the harshest penal colony settlements in Australia.

The inland population centres of Queenstown and the smaller towns of Zeehan, Tullah and Rosebery are rich in mining history and are all within a short distance of magnificent lakes, rivers, rainforests, giant sand dunes and historic sites.

There are so many ways to experience Tasmania's west, from wild forest adventures to luxury cruises on crystal clear waterways or simply by car.

Visitors can experience this world heritage wilderness by driving for around 60 km along the Lyell Highway between Derwent Bridge and Lake Burbury. Bordering the highway are a series of stunning short walks through rainforest with views into the rugged mountain ranges of Tasmania's west. Keep an eye out for signs to Donaghy's Lookout, the Franklin River Nature Trail and the Nelson Falls Nature Trail.


South West of Tasmania

South West

The South West Wilderness of Tasmania, Australia is a remote and inaccessible region of South West Tasmania containing unspoilt scenery, rugged peaks, wild rivers, unique flora and fauna, and a long and rugged coastline.

.Parts of the wilderness are more than 50 km from the nearest road, so the only access to the area is by foot, air or sea. It has been known by a variety of names over the last century - and the 'label' has been affected by a number of threats to the region. For some the term The Southwest has been the usual term - while recent maps and tourism promotion material has identified it variously including the Southwest Wilderness and South-West Wilderness.


Bass Strait Islands

Bass Strait Islands

Flinders Island in the Bass Strait, north of the north-east tip of Tasmania, is approximately 70 kilometres long and 40 kilometres wide. It has nearly twice the area, but only half the population, of its significant other, King Island. The two towns on Flinders Island are Whitemark and Lady Barron.

There are over 50 islands in Bass Strait. Major islands include:

  • Western section: King Island, Three Hummock Island, Hunter Island, Robbins island.
  • South eastern section: Furneaux group. (Flinders Island, Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island, Sister Islands Group,and several other islands ).
  • North eastern section: Kent Group (Deal Island and 3 smaller islands), Hogan Island, Curtis island.


Comments are closed.